Dataset: Soil Condition and Land Management within Capability 2008 Monitoring Unit Map


Map of soil monitoring units across NSW established for the 2008 baseline. Each catchment management region was divided into ten soil monitoring units (SMUs) to spatially stratify NSW for prioritisation of establishing a permanent network of soil condition and land management within capability monitoring sites. Soil monitoring units are extensive groups of soil landscapes # metadata link? selected for monitoring. The SMUs were selected by Catchment Management Authority extension experts and DECCW soil scientists on the basis of thier importance, spatial extent, propensity for land use pressure changes and number of existing land degradation issues. All soil condition monitoring for the 2008 baseline is restricted to the 124 soil monitoring units Soil Monitoring Units are the finest available spatial reporting unit for soil condition and land management.

General Information