Dataset: Greater Sydney Regional Housing activity


This dataset contains the latest available numbers of dwelling approvals by District from July 1991; the latest available numbers of net dwelling completions by District from July 2012; and the number of net dwelling completions for Greater Sydney Region by financial year since 1949-50. Data are collected from Australian Bureau of Statistics, Sydney Water, Hunter Water and Councils in the Central Coast and Illawarra Regions and analysed as part of the Department’s responsibilities to monitor residential housing activity.
Dwelling Approvals refers to a residential development that has received the final approval to construct. Net dwelling completions refer to the difference between the number of completed dwellings compared to the existing stock, adjusted for demolitions. For example, a two-unit development that demolishes one house is counted as one net dwelling completion.
These data are for the Greater Sydney, Central Coast, Illawarra-Shoalhaven and Greater Newcastle Regions, which comprise the LGAs of Bayside, Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Burwood, Camden, Canterbury-Bankstown, Campbelltown, Canada Bay, Central Coast, Cumberland, Fairfield, Georges River, Hawkesbury, Hornsby, Hunters Hill, Inner West, Kiama, Ku-ring-gai, Lake Macquarie, Lane Cove, Liverpool, Maitland, Mosman, Newcastle, North Sydney, Northern Beaches, Parramatta, Penrith, Port Stephens, Randwick, Ryde, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Strathfield, Sutherland Shire, Sydney, The Hills Shire, Waverley, Willoughby, Wollondilly, Wollongong and Woollahra.
Prior to 21 September 2017, the Greater Sydney Region Districts included Central, Central West, North, South, South West and West. From that date, the Greater Sydney Region Districts were updated and include Central City, Eastern City, North, South and Western City (Environmental Planning and Assessment Order 2017).

General Information